Skip to main content




Explore the Regional Reviews of Africa

The 2024 Regional Review in the African region provides 54 African Member States, intergovernmental organizations, United Nations bodies, and various stakeholders an opportunity to assess their progress in implementing the objectives and guiding principles of the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration (GCM).

The Intergovernmental Conference, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, 9-10 October, will formulate recommendations for the next International Migration Review Forum in 2026.

Key focus areas will include assessing regional progress and challenges, strengthening linkages between the GCM and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, and enhancing regional cooperation on migration.

The Intergovernmental Conference will be preceded by a Multi-stakeholder Hearing. Both will feature thematic sessions covering crucial aspects of all GCM objectives.

Five Regional Reviews are held every four years. As part of the 2024 series, a Regional Review was held in the UN Economic Commission for Europe in March 2024.

Further Reviews are scheduled in the Arab region (July), Latin America and the Caribbean (March), and Asia and the Pacific in early 2025.



Preparatory Process

Multi-stakeholder consultations

Intergovernmental Conference

Cross-regional and intra-regional discussion that cover Member States of more than one UN Regional Commission, will be posted on all relevant regional pages.

This page contains information for the Member States of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) which include; Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti,  Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, The D.R Congo, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

*Todas las referencias a Kosovo deben entenderse en el contexto de la Resolución 1244 [1999] del Consejo de Seguridad de las Naciones Unidas.